Henry Jamison

I am really excited about this! I really love this community, and am excited that it is continually expanding.

I do have a thought about the garbage in, garbage out idea, and that is that I think the value of music can be separated into two parts, 1. the musical/production content, and 2. the lyrics. As a production student, I love to listen to a lot of EDM, and understand that often the lyrics are not great, BUT, the value is placed on the creativity of the sound design.

As far as lyrical content, the artist that I reach for time and time again is Henry Jamison. His songs always move me.

The Jacket
To Ash
Boys

3 Likes

I just randomly listened to that “Boys” song. It’s really neat. The funny thing is, I thought you were showing some EDM folks that wrote with lyrics in mind. But then I realized I got it wrong. Ha!

1 Like

And what is it about these particular tracks resonates with you?

Also, I love Henrys voice, I used to have real peach on one of my favourite playlists

1 Like

I guess that was kinda the point I was making. I wouldn’t post an EDM song here for the lyrics to be evaluated, because, well, in general the lyrics are pretty sparse, or shallow. Yet, I enjoy listening to the music because of the sonic creativity.
This is a great example of a song that is literally one phrase repeated the entire song, yet they take you on a creative journey with the sound.
On a Mountain Remix

1 Like

Real Peach is one of my favorite songs, and can usually pull me out of bad mood, which I appreciate. :slight_smile:

As far as Henry’s music, I struggle to articulate why I love it so much. I think he has some very clever lines. For instance in Boys, the line
"Thought I was drowning in that bed
Couldn’t get the moon out of my head,"
really paints the picture of what it feels like to drown in your thoughts.

In his song “Jacket,” I love the metaphor of the jacket
"If I were the jacket
Her chest and limbs all wrapped around